NYPL Annual Report 10 NYPL  

Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence
in Journalism

Photo: Elena Parker

The Young Lions Fiction Award
Photo: Chae Kihn



Brooke Russell Astor Award
The New York Public Library Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism
The Young Lions Fiction Award


Brooke Russell Astor Award

Lucina Clarke, winner
Ingrid Floyd, honorable mention
Cynthia Maurer, honorable mention

Selection Committee
Paul LeClerc, Co-Chair
Elihu Rose,
Sila M. Calderón
Thelma Golden
Robert Jackson
Erik Paulino
Peter Rider
Joan Steinberg
Sue Ann Weinberg

The Young Lions Fiction Award

The New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award was founded by Ethan Hawke, Jennifer Rudolph Walsh, Rick Moody, and Hannah McFarland. The Award is made possible by an endowment created with generous gifts from Russell Abrams, Nina Collins, Hannah and Gavin McFarland, Ethan Hawke, Stephan Loewentheil, Rick Moody, Andrea Olshan and Jennifer Rudolph Walsh.

Wells Tower, winner
Jedediah Berry
, finalist
Katie Kitamura
, finalist
Philipp Meyer
, finalist
C.E. Morgan
, finalist
Ethan Hawke
, emcee and guest reader
Josh Hamilton
, guest reader
Emily Mortimer
, guest reader
Alessandro Nivola
, guest reader
Mark Ruffalo
, guest reader

Amy Hempel
Rick Moody
Salvatore Scibona

Readers Committee
Ethan Hawke
Brigid Hughes
Elizabeth Gaffney
Carolyn Gan
Mary-Beth Hughes
Marlon James
Jennifer Joel
Cressida Leyshon
Jack Livings
Stephan Loewentheil
Ed Park
Nathaniel Rich
Victoria Steele
Whitney Terrell
John Wray


The New York Public Library
    Helen Bernstein Book Award for
    Excellence in Journalism

David Finkel, winner
John Cassidy
, finalist
Nicholas D. Kristof and
   Sheryl WuDunn
, finalists
Peter Maass
, finalist
Roger Thurow and Scott Kilman
, finalists

Tina Brown
, guest speaker
James F. Hoge, Jr.
, guest speaker

Selection Committee
James F. Hoge, Jr.
, Chairman
Harold McGraw III
Lynn Povich
Jack Rosenthal
Charlie Savage
Elaine Sciolino

Library Review Committee
Erminio D′Onofrio
Karen Gisonny
Ryan Haley
Sharon Jarvis
Maira Liriano
Billy Parrott
Karen Van Westering



  Return to Top  
  WELCOME Letter from the Chairman | Letter from the President  ACHIEVEMENTS Our Mission | The Year in Review  ACTIVITIES Public Programs | Programs for Members | Awards | Benefit Events | Exhibitions | Digital and Print Publications | Media Roundup  ACQUISITIONS Gifts | Purchases  LEADERSHIP Board of Trustees | Committees and Councils | Donors | Staff  FINANCIALS Report of the Treasurer | Balance Sheets | Summary of Financial Activities  FACTS & FIGURES Visitors | Usage of Materials/Resources | Programs and Services | Behind the Scenes  HOME  
  A SPECIAL THANKS TO OUR DONORS | www.nypl.org | E-Newsletters | Media Center | Connect with NYPL | The Library Shop | Contact Us
Privacy Policy | Rules and Regulations | Using the Internet | Website Terms and Conditions | Gifts of Materials to NYPL | © The New York Public Library, 2011
  pdf  Annual Report PDF  | pdf  Financials-Only PDF